Lassina Zerbo
Burkina Faso

Prime Minister of Burkina Faso (2021–2022). He previously served as Executive Secretary of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO). Zerbo has been instrumental in cementing the CTBTO’s position as the world’s centre of excellence for nuclear test-ban verification, as well as in driving forward efforts towards the entry into force and universalization of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT).

In recognition of his work at the CTBTO and in the disarmament and nuclear proliferation field in general, Zerbo was awarded the 2013 “Arms Control Person of the Year” by the Arms Control Association, USA. In 2015 he became a Commander of the National Order of Burkina Faso. He was also decorated with the Grand Cross in the Chilean Order of Bernardo O’Higgins in June 2016. In February 2017, Zerbo was awarded the Presidential Medal on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the Republic of Kazakhstan. In August 2017, Zerbo received Special Honorary Citizenship of the City of Hiroshima.

During a professional career, Zerbo has developed expertise ranging from scientific and technical competencies to results-based management and multilateral diplomacy.